ACT No. VI OF 1903.

PASSED BY THE GOVERNOR GENERAL OF INDIA IN COUNCIL.

(Received the assent of the Governor General on the 13th March, 1903.)

An Act further to amend the Indian Paper Currency Act, 1882.

WHEREAS it is expedient further to amend the Indian Paper Currency Act, 1882, in manner XX of 882. hereinafter appearing; It is hereby enacted as follows:---

Short title.

1. This Act may be called the Indian Paper Currency (Amendment) Act, 1903.

Amendment of Act XX of 1882, sections 16 and 17.

2. For sections 16 and 17 of the Indian Paper XX of 1882. Currency Act, 1832, the following shall be substituted, namely:---

Notes where legal tender.

"16. A currency note for five rupees, issued from any town not situate in Burma, shall be a legal tender at any place in British India except Burma,

a currency note for five rupees, issued from any town in Burma, shall be a legal tender at any place in Burma, and

a currency note for any amount exceeding five rupees shall be a legal tender at any place within the Circle from which the note was issued,

for the amount expressed in the note, in payment or on account of-

- (a) any revenue or other claim to the amount of five rupees and upw ds, due to the Government of India, and
- (b) any sum of five rupees and upwards, due by the Government of India or by any body corporate or person in British India:

Provided

Provided that no currency note shall be deemed to be a legal tender by the Government of India at any office of issue.

"17. (1) A currency note for five rupees, issued Notes where from any town not situate in Burma, shall be payable payable at any office of issue not situate in Burma.

(2) A currency note for five rupees, issued from any town in Burma, shall be payable only at an office of issue in such town.

- (3) A currency note for any amount exceeding five rupees shall be payable only—
 - (a) at an office of issue of the town from which it was issued, and
 - (b) in the case of notes issued from any town not situate in Burma, also at the Presidency-town of the Presidency within which that town is situate."