THE PARLIAMENT PREVENTION OF DISQUALIFICA-TION ACT, 1951

No. LXVIII of 1951



See India Code Vol.
VI-A

An Act to declare certain offices of profit not to disqualify their holders for being chosen as, or for being, members of Parliament.

[31st October, 1951]

 ${f B}$ ${f E}$ it enacted by Parliament as follows:—

- 1. Short title and commencement.—(1) This Act may be called the Parliament Prevention of Disqualification Act, 1951.
- (2) It shall be deemed to have come into force on the 26th day of January, 1950.
- 2. Prevention of disqualification for membership of Parliament in certain cases.—It is hereby declared that the following offices of profit under Government shall not disqualify, and shall be deemed never to have disqualified, the holders thereof for being chosen as, or for being, members of Parliament:—
 - (a) the offices of Chairman and members of the Fiscal Commission which was appointed by the Government of India in the month of April, 1949 and which ceased to function in the month of June, 1950;
 - (b) the offices of Chairman and member of the Film Inquiry Committee appointed by the Government of India in the month of August, 1949;
 - (c) the office of Chairman of the Working Party for the Coal Industry appointed by the Government of India in the month of March, 1950;
 - (d) the offices of members of the Railway Local Advisory Committees appointed by the Government of India for the year ending on the 31st day of March, 1950 or for the year ending on the 31st day of March, 1951 or for the year ending on the 31st day of March, 1952;
 - (e) the office of Chairman or member of any other Committee appointed by the Government of India or the Government of any State held for any period not extending beyond the 31st day of March, 1952;
 - (f) the office of the Assistant Government Pleader held under the Government of Assam for any period not extending beyond the 8th day of November, 1950;

Price anna 1 or 11d.

887 M. of Law.

Parliamentary Prevention of Disqualification [Act LXVIII of 1951]. 2

(g) the office of member of the Enquiry Commission appointed by the Government of Assam or by the Government of West Bengal in pursuance of the Agreement made between India and Pakistan on the 8th April, 1950, for any period not extending beyond the 31st day of December 1950; and day of December, 1950; and

(h) the office of member of the Bombay Revenue Tribunal for any period not extending beyond the 1st day of April, 1951.